GRRH Sponsors the NYLJ 125th Anniversary Dinner

GRRH was pleased to be a sponsor the New York Law Journal’s 125th Anniversary Dinner. The NYLJ has been the newspaper of record for the legal community since its beginning in 1888. The Law Journal celebrated the occasion with a special commemorative issue published on Monday. The Anniversary dinner was held Monday evening.

Michael Rikon, a partner at GRRH, has written a column for the law journal since 1995.

The dinner program included awards to the Law Journal’s lifetime achievers, a group of judges and lawyers who have devoted their careers to challenging and shaping the legal community in New York. The 16 winners of this special Lifetime Achievement Award were:

Floyd Abrams, Cahill Gordon & Reindel
Helaine Barnett, Chair, Chief Judge’s Task Force to Expand Access to Civil Legal Services
Richard Bartlett, Bartlett, Pontiff, Stewart & Rhodes (retired)
Sheila Birnbaum, Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan
H. Rodgin Cohen, Sullivan & Cromwell
Carmen Beauchamp Ciparick, Greenberg Traurig
Mario Cuomo, Willkie Farr & Gallagher
Betty Weinberg Ellerin, Alston & Bird
John Feerick, Fordham University School of Law
Robert Fiske, Davis Polk & Wardwell
Samuel Green, Appellate Division, Fourth Department (retired)
Judith Kaye, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom
Milton Mollen, Herrick, Feinstein
Robert Morgenthau, Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz
George Bundy Smith, JAMS
Jack Weinstein, U.S. District Court, Eastern District of New York

The Law Journal also presented its “Impact Award” to honor individuals, groups or projects that have had significant and lasting impact on the legal community. The following winners of the 2013 Impact Award were honored at the 125th Anniversary Dinner on Nov. 4:

Bronx Defenders
Michael Cardozo, Corporation Counsel of the City of New York
The Community Development Program, Brooklyn Legal Services Corp A, and its founder Paul Acinapura
E-filing pioneers in Federal and State courts
Patricia Hynes, Allen & Overy
The Innocence Project
Brad Karp, chair, Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison
Robert Katzmann, chief judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit
Edwina Richardson Mendelson, administrative judge for Family Court, New York City
The Skadden Fellowship Foundation and its executive director Susan Butler Plum

GRRH was please to be a part of this special occasion in the broader New York legal community.

Posted in New York, Published Articles
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap